Sayer Regan & Thayer, LLP
Call For Your Free Initial Consultation
800-803-7699

Rhode Island is hard on drunk drivers: Defend yourself

Even though Rhode Island is a small state, it takes DUIs extremely seriously. If you are convicted of a DUI in Rhode Island, you'll lose your license. If this isn't your first offense, you could lose your license for a longer period of time, face heavy fines and could even go to jail.

The "per se" limit for an adult over 21 is .08 percent. If you are discovered with a blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or higher, you could face an aggravated DUI offense and enhanced penalties. On a first offense, the minimum license suspension period is two to 18 months. On a third, there is a two-year minimum.

Rhode Island also requires an alcohol education assessment and treatment for anyone caught drunk driving. Additionally, if this is your third aggravated offense, you could have your vehicle confiscated.

Many individuals who are convicted of a DUI have to participate in a driver safety course. The course aims to educate drivers on safety, so they don't make the kinds of mistakes they did previously. That way, they keep themselves and others safer on the roads.

For those under 21, Rhode Island has a policy that drivers can't have a blood alcohol level of .02 percent or higher. If your BAC is .02 or higher, your license may be suspended.

No matter how many times you've been convicted of a DUI, there is always the risk of the court requiring an ignition interlock device (IID). This monitor allows you to drive, but you must take a breath test before you drive and even during the drive. If you are worried you may have to use an IID or could face time in prison, it's a good idea to look into your legal options. Our website has more information.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact Our Attorneys

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Email Us For A Response

130 Bellevue Avenue
Newport, RI 02840

Toll Free: 800-803-7699
Phone: 401-324-9915
Fax: 401-849-4330
Newport Law Office Map

343 C Main St.
Wakefield, RI 02879

Toll Free: 800-803-7699
Phone: 401-324-9915
Fax: 401-783-0660
Map & Directions