Sayer Regan & Thayer, LLP
Call For Your Free Initial Consultation

Rhode Island DUI driver's license suspension or revocation laws

Having a driver's license suspended can create a lot of problems for a person. Numerous Rhode Island residents depend on the ability to drive in order to provide for themselves and/or their families. The inability to do that can take a drastic toll on a person's financial state and his or her relationships. If a suspension is ordered for a DUI-related offense, a driver's license suspension or revocation can last for months to years.

There are many reasons as to why a driver's license may be suspended. Driving while impaired is one of the biggest reasons, with some severe penalties. The level of intoxication at the time of arrest will determine how long a license is to be suspended. Here is a simple breakdown of current suspension lengths for those convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol, as first time offenders:

  • Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between .08 percent and .1 percent: 30 days up to 180 days
  • BAC between .1 percent and .15 percent: three months up to 12 months
  • BAC at .15 percent or above: three months up to 18 months

Those who are accused of having other impairing substances in their systems, along with the alcohol, are subject to a longer suspension lengths. The same can be said for those who have multiple DUI-related offenses on their records and for underage offenders. In order to reinstate a driver's license, offenders will likely have to wait the specified time frame, pay any associated fines and are, generally, required to attend classes or install ignition interlock devices.

Dealing with a driver's license suspension or revocation due to alcohol or other substance use is not easy. Because the potential penalties of impaired driving can have such a significant impact on a person's life, it will be important to question the validity of any chemical testing performed and the circumstances surrounding an individual's arrest. In questioning the evidence, along with providing information in regard to the accused's health and medication - if applicable,-- it may be possible to achieve a dismissal of charges or to explore any alternative sentencing options available in Rhode Island.

Source:, "Chapter 31-27: Motor Vehicle Offenses", Accessed on June 3, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact Our Attorneys

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Email Us For A Response

130 Bellevue Avenue
Newport, RI 02840

Toll Free: 800-803-7699
Phone: 401-324-9915
Fax: 401-849-4330
Newport Law Office Map

343 C Main St.
Wakefield, RI 02879

Toll Free: 800-803-7699
Phone: 401-324-9915
Fax: 401-783-0660
Map & Directions